Gap and CUE Sheet 101: A simple tutorial for Dummies like me ;)

Discussion in 'Exact Audio Copy - English' started by MestreLion, Nov 22, 2002.

1. MestreLion

MestreLion Guest

After so many discussions on how to correctly read and write gap information on CD-Rs burn using EAC (aka "How to make perfect CD copies"), I guess we have enough info to write a small tutorial regarding how gaps and cuesheets are handled by EAC

First, just to make things clear: Im NOT a CD expert. Im a EAC 1st time user, with very few experience in the ripping/encoding/burning/etc area. So Im no authority. BUT ive spend last 12 hours reading almost every message in this forum regarding gaps and cuesheets, every EAC tutorial out there, configuring a lot of parameters, and doing a lot of testing. My ideia was to gather all knowlegde spreaded in all these sources.

The goal of this little tutorial is just to save begginers like me a lot of time. I wanted to use EAC for both copying and encoding Audio CDs, but was hard to figure out how. I knew what a gap was, but didnt understand how the Gap menu options worked. Also I didnt have a clear ideia of what a CUE Sheet was, why there were so many options for creating them, and how were they related to Gap settings.

Here's what I wanted:
    - Extract a CD into several WAV files, so I could rip, encode and tag them with a single click (actually, using Shift+F5 ;)
    - Since the extraction was already done, I wish I could be able to burn an exact copy of the original CD without having to read the CD all over again. So, the already extracted wavs should be used fo this job
    - I wanted things to be as easy and straightforward as they could be. The less clicks the better :)

Reading from Masters like Andre, Pio, and many others, I realized that to accomplish this I should learn a bit about Gaps, Cue Sheets and stuff. So, after 12 hours of browsig, reading, testing and learning, here is my humble tutotial. Lets go!

READING GAPS: